Unix

Unix related items

Installing nmsg on ubuntu 12.04 Monday, February 17, 2014
Tivo, which I like, and email validation on websites... which I dislike Wednesday, February 12, 2014
iDrac setup and use Tuesday, October 04, 2011

For a r4xx version Dell server with an iDrac6 Express controller installed.
o configure the ip interface
o configure the admin user
o test a serial console connection

Ubuntu, Cyrus SASL auth and Postfix Friday, July 15, 2011

I have no idea why, but postfix + ubuntu + sasl (cyrus-type) are stupidly unhappy… and honestly I’m tired it it.

Making sure kvm serial consoles work (Ubuntu Lucid) Thursday, July 14, 2011

There are two parts to the serial-console-game:
1) vm base config (guest hardware config)
2) vm software config

VMBuilder for KVM installation/management on Ubuntu Sunday, July 10, 2011

Build a basic KVM guest on:
o 192.168.122.100/24
o 192.168.122.1 - default-gw
o 4GB RAM
o 100GB disk partition
o ubuntu Lucid

Turning a series of JPG images into a single PDF Friday, July 08, 2011

This uses these simple tools:
o a camera (for the jpeg)
o a computer (for the conversion)
o netpbm utils for jpeg->postscript conversion
o ghostscript for postscript -> pdf conversion
o pdfjam (to stitch the PDF files into a single file)

Making a new RAID disk Thursday, July 07, 2011

Quick steps to make a raid disk on some number (4) drives, on Ubuntu 10.04.02.

DMCrypt - Encrypting your thumbs (drives) Saturday, March 21, 2009

Using DMCrypt to create, create an encrypted filesystem, mappable and mountable filesystem and mount same.

Making and Installing a SSL Cert from StartSSL Saturday, January 10, 2009

StartSSL offers free 1 yr SSL certs with 256-bit encryption capable for web/email/other servers. These are convenient (free!) useful and FREE! (and they work in all current browsers I use save Opera).

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >